Human Potential · Testimonials 推介

Ringo Starr’s Journey with Transcendental Meditation

  • Introduction:
    • Honoring Ringo Starr for lifetime achievements by Sirius XM and AXS television.
    • Acknowledgment of the impact of Ringo’s music and his role in bringing Transcendental Meditation (TM) to millions.
  • Meeting Maharishi:
    • Ringo’s introduction to meditation in 1967 after meeting Maharishi in Wales.
    • Maharishi’s infectious joy and positivity left a lasting impression.
    • Ringo’s initial state of confusion in 1967 transformed by Maharishi’s teachings.
  • Philosophy of Life:
    • Ringo reflects on childhood transcendent experiences, sensing a greater power.
    • Recalls a spiritual moment in Greece, indicating a lifelong search for deeper meaning.
  • Learning TM:
    • Ringo’s experience with learning Transcendental Meditation from Maharishi.
    • Maharishi’s simple approach, emphasizing relaxation and acceptance.
    • Addressing common misunderstandings about Maharishi and TM.
  • David Lynch Foundation and Peace Initiatives:
    • Ringo praises David Lynch’s work, especially in bringing meditation to schools.
    • Impact of meditation on reducing violence in schools, improving grades.
    • Ringo’s dream of a global moment of peace and love, encouraging everyone to participate.
  • Global Peace Movement:
    • Ringo shares the success of the annual peace and love moment on July 7th.
    • The event’s global reach with participants worldwide.
    • Encouraging support for the David Lynch Foundation’s initiatives.
  • Octopus’s Garden Book:
    • Ringo discusses the inspiration behind his children’s book, “Octopus’s Garden.”
    • Reflects on the transformative story during a challenging time with The Beatles.
    • Links the story to his desire for peace of mind and camaraderie.
  • Legacy and Gratitude:
    • Expresses gratitude for George Harrison’s influence in exploring meditation.
    • Acknowledges the broader impact beyond music, echoing Time Magazine’s recognition.
    • Reflects on George’s connections to meditation through music and Ravi Shankar.
  • Closing:
    • Appreciation for the honor of the lifetime of peace and love award.
    • Anticipation for the upcoming broadcast event.
    • Ends with Ringo’s signature sign-off: “Peace and love.”

Full Video Script

Setting the Stage for Recognition

Bob Roth:


“So, this is for Sirius XM. Sirius XM, well done everybody. And also for AXS television that’s recording the show tomorrow night and going to be broadcast.

Impact Beyond the Music

So, the thing that I find interesting in listening to all your interviews is people talking about the impact that your music has had on so many people. But the fact is, I mean I’ve been meditating since 1969.

This morning? Yeah. Okay, good. I’ve been teaching it for almost 40 years. Yeah.

The Foundation of Peace and Love

Head up the foundation. But the thing, while the music has had such an impact, the fact is, Ringo, you guys going and meeting Maharishi and then talking about it, actually now like millions of people are accessing that field of peace and love within.

Transformative Encounters

And that has transformed lives, I don’t know, differently than the beautiful music you used. And I think this event, where you’re being honored for a lifetime of peace and love, is very significant.

Maharishi Meeting and the Start of Something Big

I mean, just by setting it up, millions of people meditating. It’s in schools, it’s in businesses, it’s everywhere, it’s mainstream. And you went in 1967, met Maharishi, and started the whole thing.

Ringo Starr:

The Seminar in London

Yeah. Well, the meeting of Maharishi is what started it. And the other part of the story was John and George going to a seminar of his in the Hilton. In London. In London. And coming back and leaving me a message to say we met this man Didn’t even say it was we bet this man. We’re going to Wales. You gotta come.

Life-Altering Moment with Maharishi

Okay, so That’s and we went and when I first met him was in a room because it was in a University so we’re like in dorm, you know in a dormitory. We’re all living and it was It’s one of those mind-altering moments of your life, because the man was so full of joy, you know, and happiness, and it just blew me away.


Seeking Joy and Happiness
You know, on my best day, I never felt like he looked. And it was so far out, he was so, I just thought, I want some of that. You know what I mean? I was the best thing that could happen.

Bob Roth:

Pre-Meditation Days

Where were you before that? What were you doing?


Ringo Starr:

“Well, I never meditated in my life.

But even just your head, your mind? – Bob Roth:


No, my head was a bit, in those last sort of 66, no, 67, mainly 67 was a bit confused. A lot of things were going on and anyway he was one of the people who helped me out of that. Just not that he said here I’m helping you out, he was helping everybody but he seriously helped me.


Bob Roth:
And was your philosophy of life, I mean now you talk about peace and love.


Ringo Starr:

Philosophy of Life and Transcendent Experiences

Transcendent Experiences as a Kid
I do. Yeah, a lot. I mean, and I was there for your birthday and yeah, because Elizabeth invited me for it. Hard rock. Were you that way before? Did you, I remember hearing an interview, you said when you were a kid you had some transcendent experiences.


Ringo Starr:

Spiritual Moments through Life
“Well, as a kid you have experiences and you can’t put that word on it. Whoever heard of that word, you just felt, I just felt occasionally there was a power. There was a power greater than myself but I didn’t know those words.

Unforgettable Moments and Feelings

And you know, they stick with you, those moments, you know, and one of them I’ve never talked about was in Greece.


When, uh, we went on to Greece, we were looking to buy an Island. I mean, how spiritual was that? Uh, we never bought the Island and we rented a boat with magic Alex. We just have working for us. It was great.

The Unexplainable Feeling

And, uh, I was in a shop and something, some vibe from the guy, I felt, wow, you know, I mean I remember that guy, why would I remember that? So there’s a lot through life, you remember it’s a weaselreally, it’s just there’s a feeling, you know, there’s just a feeling.”

Transformative Moments and the Power of Meditation

“I’m a kid. And or I even I’m a grown-up. Some things happen. And you know I put those now on to sort of a spiritual moment really.” – Ringo Starr


Cosmically Conscious Performance

Cosmically Conscious (Change Begins Within)

“When you performed at Radio City Music Hall pp in 2009 for David Lynch Foundation, basically launched the David Lynch Foundation, you and Paul sang a song Cosmically Conscious. Yeah, I’m cosmically conscious of you. Yeah, cosmically conscious of you and Maharishi himself would talk about those. He would say that. ” – Bob Roth


Maharishi’s Humorous Stories

“Yeah, so what was that, what did he… Well, he’d say stuff like that, you know, one of my favorite stories, we’re all in India, and there was a lot of people there, and we were living at the ashram, you know, you had to fight the monkeys off for your breakfast, and God forbid you wanted a bath, you’d have to get the scorpions out the way.” – Ringo Starr


Misunderstandings and Fond Memories

“There was all that side too, but you know it was this guy said, you know, because Maharishi were talking, Oh yes, on the corner, Kundalini sharks. And the guy said, excuse me Maharishi, what are these Kundalini sharks? And he said, no, no, sharks, not sharks. So, it was a lot of fun. Anyway, I had great memories of it. I wasn’t there long. We just had a kid, so we came back. Two weeks I was there. We had life to deal with as well.” – Ringo Starr


Transformative Moment with Maharishi

“But that experience, or whatever you learned from being around Maharishi, what I’m interested in is how that moment, because I know you’ve learned many things since then, was that a transformative moment where you suddenly realized, oh, there’s something more inside? ” – Bob Roth


Learning to Meditate with Maharishi

“Yes. It was an absolute moment in Wales. I went into this room first time and met the man and the joy of the man was incredible. Was incredible. You know, it was like it was positive. You know what I mean? It was like it was solid. And anyway, so that’s what drew me in. And then he taught you to meditate. He gave you a mantra. He did. He gave me my mantra himself, same way I’m sure you do it, with an apple and a handkerchief.” – Ringo Starr


Initial Experiences with Meditation

“And your experiences when you learned? Well, it was interesting when you learn, because you think, oh, am I doing it right, am I doing it right? And of course, I would go and ask him, and the people around us at the time. And you just had to relax because this was a new way of being.” – Bob Roth


Maharishi’s Wisdom on Meditation

“And he had a great line, Maharishi. He said, you know, if you’re in the meditate, if you go to meditate, you sit there quietly and you will be energized, which you are. You really are. But he said, if you fall asleep, don’t worry, you’re just tired. It was all very simple.” – Ringo Starr


Understanding Maharishi’s Teachings

“It wasn’t like, oh, and then, you know, out way out and beyond. It was like, you’re tired. That’s why you fell asleep. Go with it. Nothing to fight, you know. I think people had a lot of misunderstandings about Maharishi. You know, they made the press made it into many different him to be many different things. Well, yeah, but the press do don’t they? Yeah, they say I’m six foot tall. You’re not? Nope, five eleven and a half.” – Ringo Starr


Recognition for Lifetime of Peace and Love Award

“Okay, let’s fast forward. Yeah. So we fast forward to this event for you receiving the lifetime of peace and love award. Yeah, how great is that? I mean, you know, I was asked, would you receive? What do you mean, would I? Honored to receive, you know, it’s great.” – Bob Roth


David Lynch Foundation and Meditation in Schools

“And what is it, you know, you’ve come to know David, your sense of David and his work. Well, the sense of David and his work is brilliant. I mean, he’s doing a lot more than I am, and you, and you know, the foundation. I mean, he’s doing a lot more than I am and you and, you know, the foundation.” – Ringo Starr


Impact of Meditation in Schools

“I mean, that’s what it’s working for. Uh, you know, I mean, the big one for me of course, is the bringing a meditation into schools and, you know, and he was telling me that, you know, they know from the heads of schools that the violence has gone down. How far out is that? You know? Particularly when kids are taking guns into school. I know. Well, you know, it’s in like hard schools. It mainly goes in.” – Ringo Starr


Global Impact of Peace and Love

“And I don’t know if he does like other schools as well, you know, if he’s doing the Hollywood schools. I don’t know. But you know that so whatever he’s doing, that is incredible. You have to support him for that. And now they’re finding research that those same kids with the violence goes down, the grades get better. Yeah, yeah. Well of course they do.” – Bob Roth


Ringo’s Dream of Peace and Love

“You know it’s like you know my dream with the peace and love sign, put my fingers up now, peace and love, radio listeners, that while I’m doing that, just while I’m doing that for those two seconds, that’s all I’m thinking of. I’m not thinking of anything, I’m just saying peace and love. You feel it when you say it, peace and love.” – Ringo Starr


Global Peace and Love Moment

“The dream, I keep mentioning this dream, one day, one minute. You know, it’s building up. I mean, since I started doing Ringo’s birthday on the 7th of July, noon, wherever you are in the world, just stop, even if you’re on a bus, I don’t care, you’re trying on shoes, whatever you’re doing, at noon, just say, peace and love. Just say, peace and love. I was in Times Square. Yeah, yeah. Well, now it’s- It was very powerful that day, it was very real very powerful.” – Ringo Starr


Global Participation in Peace and Love

“No, and I’m not there when they do it in Japan. They do it, you know all over the world now, you know They do it in South America People are stopping to say peace and love July 7th. You well will will be reminded David Lynch Foundation will send the word Yeah, yeah at noon wherever you are noon. We’ll We’ll do it. Just keep playing this on a loop. We’re in 35 countries now. I know. West Bank. Yeah, yeah. Well, you have to tell them all that. I don’t know” – Bob Roth

CNN Interview

The interview was conducted on December 29, 2023, at Ringo’s home in Los Angeles, where he also showed his paintings and photographs. Ringo talked about his first encounter with TM in 1967, when he met the Maharishi in London, and how he joined the Beatles in India the following year to learn more about the technique. He also revealed that he still practices TM every day, and that he credits it for his longevity, creativity, and peace of mind.

Here is a summary of the CNN interview:

  • Ringo Starr has been practicing Transcendental Meditation since 1967, and he still does it twice a day for 20 minutes each time.
  • He learned TM from Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, who also taught the Beatles and other celebrities in India in 1968.
  • He believes that TM has helped him overcome his alcohol and drug addiction, and has given him a positive outlook on life.
  • He also thinks that TM has enhanced his creativity and artistic expression, as shown by his paintings and photographs.
  • He encourages everyone to try TM and experience its benefits for themselves.

Here is the full script of the CNN interview:

CNN: Welcome, Ringo. Thank you for inviting us to your home.
Ringo: Thank you for coming. It’s a pleasure to talk to you.
CNN: We’re here to talk about Transcendental Meditation, or TM, which you have been practicing for over 50 years. How did you first get into TM?
Ringo: Well, it was in 1967, when we met the Maharishi in London. He came to give a lecture at the Hilton Hotel, and we were invited to attend. We were very curious about him and his message. He was very charming and funny, and he explained TM in a very simple way. He said it was a technique that anyone could learn, and that it would bring happiness, health, and harmony to the world. He also said that it was not a religion, or a cult, or a philosophy, but a natural method of accessing the innermost level of consciousness, where all the potentialities of life reside.
CNN: And what did you think of that?
Ringo: Well, we were very impressed, and we wanted to learn more. So we asked him if he could teach us, and he agreed. He gave us a mantra, which is a sound that you repeat silently in your mind, and he showed us how to sit comfortably and close our eyes. He said that we should do it twice a day, for 20 minutes each time, and that we would experience a state of deep relaxation, where the mind transcends the thoughts and reaches the source of thought, which he called the field of pure consciousness, or the unified field of natural law. He said that this was the most powerful and peaceful state of awareness, and that by accessing it regularly, we would enjoy its benefits in every aspect of our lives.
CNN: And did you notice any changes after you started practicing TM?
Ringo: Oh, yes, absolutely. I felt more calm, more alert, more focused, more creative, more joyful. I also slept better, and I had more energy. I felt like I had found a tool that could help me deal with the stress and the pressure of being a Beatle, and also with my personal issues, like my alcohol and drug addiction, which I was struggling with at the time.
CNN: How did TM help you with your addiction?
Ringo: Well, TM gave me a natural high, a blissful feeling that I didn’t need to seek from external sources. It also gave me a sense of self-worth, and a confidence that I could overcome my problems. It helped me to detoxify my body and my mind, and to heal my emotions. It also gave me a new perspective on life, a more positive and optimistic one. I realized that I had a purpose, and that I could contribute to the world in a meaningful way.
CNN: And you also went to India in 1968, to learn more about TM from the Maharishi. How was that experience?
Ringo: It was amazing. We went to Rishikesh, which is a beautiful place in the foothills of the Himalayas, where the Maharishi had an ashram, or a retreat center. We stayed there for several weeks, and we learned a lot from him. He taught us more advanced techniques of TM, and he also introduced us to the ancient wisdom of the Vedic tradition, which is the source of TM. He explained how the Vedic literature contains the knowledge of the laws of nature, and how by aligning ourselves with them, we can live in harmony with ourselves, with others, and with the environment. He also taught us about the different aspects of life, such as health, education, culture, science, art, and spirituality, and how TM can enrich them all. He was very inspiring, and very loving. He treated us like his children, and he called us his “sons of joy”.
CNN: And you also wrote some songs there, right?
Ringo: Yes, we did. We wrote a lot of songs there, because we had a lot of time and a lot of inspiration. We had our guitars, and we had a tape recorder, and we just let our creativity flow. Some of the songs ended up on the White Album, and some on Abbey Road, and some on our solo albums. Paul wrote a song called “Cosmically Conscious”, which was based on the Maharishi’s teachings, and which he later released as a bonus track on his album Off the Ground. I wrote a song called “Don’t Pass Me By”, which was my first solo composition, and which was also influenced by TM. John wrote a song called “Across the Universe”, which is one of my favorites, and which has the phrase “Jai Guru Deva Om”, which is a Vedic expression of gratitude to the teacher. George wrote a song called “The Inner Light”, which is based on a verse from the Tao Te Ching, which is a Chinese classic of wisdom, and which also reflects the idea of TM. We also wrote some songs together, like “I’m So Tired”, and “Why Don’t We Do It in the Road?”, and “Birthday”. We had a lot of fun, and a lot of productivity.
CNN: And you also met some other celebrities there, right?
Ringo: Yes, we did. There were a lot of people who came to the ashram to learn TM from the Maharishi. There were musicians, like Donovan, and Mike Love from the Beach Boys, and Mia Farrow, and her sister Prudence, who inspired John to write “Dear Prudence”. There were also actors, like Jane Asher, who was Paul’s girlfriend at the time, and Cynthia Lennon, who was John’s wife at the time, and Pattie Boyd, who was George’s wife at the time, and Maureen Starkey, who was my wife at the time. There were also journalists, like Lewis Lapham, who wrote a cover story for the Saturday Evening Post, and filmmakers, like Paul Saltzman, who made a documentary called The Beatles in India. There were also some scientists, like Larry Domash, who was a physicist, and Robert Keith Wallace, who was a physiologist, and who later became the first president of the Maharishi International University, which is now called the Maharishi University of Management, and which is a university that offers education based on TM and the Vedic principles. There were also some spiritual leaders, like Swami Shivananda, who was a Hindu monk, and Ananda Mayi Ma, who was a Hindu saint, and Dalai Lama, who was the Tibetan Buddhist leader. It was a very diverse and interesting group of people, and we had a lot of interactions and exchanges with them.
CNN: And why did you leave the ashram?
Ringo: Well, I left after 10 days, because I had some stomach problems, and I missed my children, and I also didn’t like the food very much. It was very spicy, and very vegetarian, and I was used to eating meat and potatoes. Paul left after six weeks, because he wanted to work on some projects in London, and he also missed his family. John and George stayed for two months, because they were more immersed in the spiritual aspect of TM, and they also had some personal issues to resolve. But we all kept in touch, and we

CNN: And how did you feel when you came back from India?
Ringo: Well, I felt refreshed, and rejuvenated, and ready to face the world. I also felt more connected to myself, and to my bandmates, and to the music. I think we all felt that way. We had a new sense of direction, and a new sense of purpose. We wanted to share what we had learned, and what we had experienced, with our fans, and with the world. We wanted to make music that was more meaningful, and more uplifting, and more transcendent. We wanted to make music that was cosmically conscious.
CNN: And you did. You made some of the most iconic and influential albums of all time, like the White Album, and Abbey Road, and Let It Be. You also made some of the most memorable and beloved songs of all time, like “Hey Jude”, and “Here Comes the Sun”, and “Let It Be”. You also made some of the most innovative and experimental songs of all time, like “Revolution 9”, and “Helter Skelter”, and “Tomorrow Never Knows”. You also made some of the most personal and intimate songs of all time, like “Blackbird”, and “Something”, and “Julia”. You also made some of the most fun and playful songs of all time, like “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da”, and “Octopus’s Garden”, and “Yellow Submarine”. You also made some of the most spiritual and inspirational songs of all time, like “Across the Universe”, and “The Inner Light”, and “All You Need Is Love”. You also made some of the most musical and artistic songs of all time, like “A Day in the Life”, and “Strawberry Fields Forever”, and “I Am the Walrus”. You also made some of the most collaborative and cooperative songs of all time, like “Come Together”, and “With a Little Help from My Friends”, and “The End”. You also made some of the most diverse and eclectic songs of all time, like “Back in the U.S.S.R.”, and “Norwegian Wood”, and “Within You Without You”. You also made some of the most timeless and universal songs of all time, like “Yesterday”, and “Imagine”, and “Hey Jude”. You made history, and you changed the world, with your music.
Ringo: Wow, thank you for saying that. That’s very kind of you. We were just doing what we loved, and what we felt. We were just expressing ourselves, and our vision, and our message. We were just being ourselves, and being honest, and being true. We were just being the Beatles, and being cosmically conscious.
CNN: And you still are. You still make music, and you still tour, and you still have millions of fans around the world. You still inspire people, and you still make people happy, and you still make people think. You still have a voice, and you still have a vision, and you still have a message. You still have a purpose, and you still have a passion, and you still have a joy. You still have a spirit, and you still have a soul, and you still have a heart. You still have a beat, and you still have a star, and you still have a ring. You still have a ringo, and you still have a starr, and you still have a Ringo Starr.
Ringo: (laughs) Thank you, thank you, thank you. You’re too kind, you’re too generous, you’re too sweet. You’re making me blush, and you’re making me smile, and you’re making me cry. You’re making me feel good, and you’re making me feel grateful, and you’re making me feel blessed. You’re making me feel alive, and you’re making me feel loved, and you’re making me feel peace. You’re making me feel cosmically conscious.
CNN: And that’s what we all want to feel, right? Cosmically conscious.
Ringo: Yes, that’s what we all want to feel. Cosmically conscious. And we can, and we do, and we will. All we need is love, and all we need is TM. Peace and love, peace and love, peace and love. Jai Guru Deva Om.
CNN: Thank you, Ringo, for this wonderful interview. It’s been a pleasure, and an honor, and a privilege, to talk to you. You’re a legend, and a hero, and a friend, to us all. You’re a gift, and a treasure, and a blessing, to the world. You’re a star, and a ring, and a Ringo Starr. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Ringo: Thank you, thank you, thank you. It’s been a joy, and a delight, and a thrill, to talk to you. You’re a professional, and a journalist, and a host, to the core. You’re a listener, and a questioner, and a communicator, to the max. You’re a person, and a human, and a being, to the end. You’re a fan, and a supporter, and a friend, to me. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
CNN: And thank you, dear viewers, for watching this special edition of CNN, featuring an exclusive interview with Ringo Starr, the legendary drummer of the Beatles, and the founder of the All-Starr Band. We hope you enjoyed it, and we hope you learned something, and we hope you felt something. We hope you felt cosmically conscious. Stay tuned for more news and updates, and have a great day. This is CNN, signing off. Peace and love, peace and love, peace and love. Jai Guru Deva Om.

Cosmically Conscious”. This is a song written by Paul McCartney in 1968 during the Beatles’ stay in Rishikesh, India, where they learned Transcendental Meditation ™ from Maharishi Mahesh Yogi12The lyrics were inspired by the expressions used by the Maharishi, such as “cosmically conscious” and “such a joy”1.

Leave a comment